Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Levels of the European Framework of Reference for Languages

The abbreviations A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2 refer to a scale of language competences developed by the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages:

The description of competences takes into account various aspects of language acquisition: the communicative language competences in the individual skills (coherent speaking, participating in conversation, listening, reading) are described on the basis of concrete language actions in dealing with written or spoken texts in concrete situations from everyday or professional life.

How can I self-assess my level?

At the CILL you can:

  • Take the DIALANG-self-assessment computer based test  in 14 European Languages for reading, writing, listening, grammar, and vocabulary

  • Use the Checklists for self-assessment of the European Language Portfolio

  • Take one of the online placement tests.




  • Niveaustufen